Stephane Peterhansel Interview, 14 Times Dakar Rally Winner – Mister Dakar

Stephane Peterhansel Interview - Mister Dakar Rally

Stephane Peterhansel - His true story!

A fantastic Stephane Peterhansel interview from Yann @DansLaBoiteaGants uncovering who Stephane “Mister Dakar” really is.


The interview is in French, you can automatically add subtitles in English by following those three steps:

  1. Click on Settings
  2. Click on Subtitles / CC
  3. Click on Auto Translate (select English)
  4. Click on subtitles/closed captions (next to settings)

About Stephane Peterhansel

Stéphane Peterhansel (born 6 August 1965 in Échenoz-la-MélineHaute-Saône) is a rally driver from France. He holds the record for wins at the Dakar Rally, with 14 victories. He drove for Team Audi Sport.[1] in the 2024 Dakar Rally.

Peterhansel made his Paris to Dakar Rally debut in 1988 in the motorcycle category for Yamaha, later winning the event in 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1997, and 1998.

He switched to the car category for 1999, joining the works Mitsubishi in 2003.[2] He went on to win the event for the Japanese marque in 2004, 2005 and 2007. He took his 10th victory in 2012 driving an X-Raid prepared Mini Countryman and his 11th in 2013 for the same team, making him the most successful competitor in the history of the Dakar Rally.

In 2014 he was leading the Dakar in the final stage, but was controversially ordered to allow his team-mate, Nani Roma, to overtake and win – leaving himself to finish in second place.

In 2015 he joined Peugeot as the manufacturer returned to compete in the Dakar for the first time since 1990. He took his 12th and 13th Dakar victory in 2016 and 2017.

He competed in the Race of Champions in 2005 and 2006 and is also a two-time World Enduro Champion. From 1999 to 2018, his Dakar co-driver was Jean-Paul Cottret.

The “Monsieur Dakar” Era

Peterhansel’s nickname, “Monsieur Dakar,” encapsulates his unparalleled success in the world’s toughest off-road endurance race. His back-to-back victories in 2005 and 2007, followed by another triumph in 2012, showcased his unwavering determination and strategic brilliance, further solidifying his legacy as a Dakar icon.

Stephane Peterhansel’s 14 Dakar Rally wins:

  1. 1991: Motorcycle category (Yamaha)
  2. 1992: Motorcycle category (Yamaha)
  3. 1993: Motorcycle category (Yamaha)
  4. 1995: Motorcycle category (Yamaha)
  5. 1997: Motorcycle category (Yamaha)
  6. 1998: Motorcycle category (Yamaha)
  7. 2004: Car category (Mitsubishi)
  8. 2005: Car category (Mitsubishi)
  9. 2007: Car category (Mitsubishi)
  10. 2012: Car category (Mini)
  11. 2013: Car category (Mini)
  12. 2016: Car category (Peugeot)
  13. 2017: Car category (Peugeot)
  14. 2021: Car category (Mini)

Inspiring Generations

Beyond his victories and accolades, Peterhansel’s enduring legacy lies in his ability to inspire generations of rally racers. His remarkable career serves as a testament to the power of passion, perseverance, and dedication in the pursuit of excellence, leaving an indelible mark on the world of motorsports.

In every twist and turn of the rally racing circuit, Stephane Peterhansel’s memorable moments continue to captivate fans and racers alike, cementing his status as a true legend of the sport.

Racing the Dakar Rally as a self-funded privateer

Dream Racer shows the legendary Dakar Rally race in its purest form – no sponsors, no multi-million dollar team, not even a mechanic – just one rider, a motorbike, a film maker and the world’s most dangerous race. Stream 10x Award Winning Full Feature Documentary Film, Dream Racer it today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.